Amid the chaos

The past two months have been awful.  Really, really awful.  Like, death and destruction awful.  I am still having a hard time processing all of it, but it began with my sister becoming critically ill and ended with my big brother dying, with a couple of big bumps in between.  I won’t write about it here: I’ve blogged too much about grief and dying already and I need to keep this blog a light, happy place for myself.  I am dealing with everything okay, just not here. Here are some good things that have happened: I finally got my bike!  I love it.  It’s a cross between a beach cruiser and a commuter bike.  Sleek and fun, not too “old-lady” and not clunky.  I don’t feel ridiculous riding it and it’s light and easy to ride.  I am so, so, soooo out of shape and it’s been a really long time since I’ve even been on a bike.  In fact, the last time I was on a bike (cough18 years agocough), I wrecked and broke my wrist.  I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to ride anymore but, you know that old saying, “Like riding a bike”?  Turns out it’s true.  I have been on several rides with my family already and it feels good.

And, no.  Before you ask, I haven’t taken it off any sweet jumps yet.

Good thing #2: It’s almost officially summer!  The kids are out of school in three days.  Many moms will tell you they dread summer vacation.  I am telling you I love it.  Yes, my beloved offspring will be under my feet, fighting, arguing, bored, whiny and not doing the things they are supposed to be doing, but I don’t mind.  You know why?  Because I love quiet mornings.  Summer means that we won’t have any bedtime drama (“But it’s still light out!  Why do I have to go to bed when it’s still light out? Can’t I stay up a little longer pleeeeeze?”).  Later bedtime means they get up later in the morning which in turn means that I can have an hour or two of quiet solitude in which to drink my coffee and gather my thoughts.  No school also means I don’t have to make lunches.  I hate making school lunches.  Because no one in my house actually eats them.  At least no one under the age of 40.  There will be no complaining about bread choices, fruit choices, the lack of Nutella in the sandwiches, etc.  No lunches to pack for three whole months.  I love that.

More good things: Val and the kids are racing BMX and after I got over my fear of one of them breaking their necks, I started liking it.  Going to the races, I mean.  Good family time and a chance to get out of town.  Also, I’ve been getting a lot of knitting done on the road trip and have finished up some socks and started a shawl.

So for now, I am looking forward to a quiet, peaceful, drama-free (please?) summer of relaxing and spending time with my family.  Throw in a few gin and tonics and lots of summer bbqs in there and I’m happy.  (Just don’t ask me to pack you a lunch.)

Leave a comment